Five countries in two weeks (part two)

January 2nd: still amazed we got here

It’s January second. Natalie and I roll out of bed and head to the train station to buy our train tickets to London… day of. With our Eurail pass you have to reserve tickets and we had our fingers crossed that we would be able to just stroll on this train. Well nope not that easy. Turns out it would’ve been $250 to get tickets day of and they didn’t even have any seats left. So after a little moment of panic we collected our selves and said okay tomorrow but buy the tickets now. We talked to the ticket woman and this AMAZING woman cheated the system to get us DISCOUNTED tickets to leave that day. I’m pretty positive she could see the distraught look in our eyes and just felt bad. So the day ended with us getting on a train finally headed off to London by the wave of a magic mouse.

January 3rd: London bridge didn’t fall down

Processed with VSCOcam with k3 preset
This magical burger was our welcome to London

Processed with VSCOcam with k3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with k3 preset
This is what I get when I try to take cool picture of the Tower Bridge, or basically anything. Thanks Nats -__-
Processed with VSCOcam with k3 preset
How can you not eat fish n chips when in London. YUM!
Processed with VSCOcam with k3 preset
9 times out of 10, Natalie’s tongue will be out
Processed with VSCOcam with k3 preset
London’s classic
Processed with VSCOcam with k3 preset
Don’t we look like we’re having so much fun?

We made it to London, and what a city. The main thing to know is its cold and it rains. A lot. We did a two hour walking tour of the city with our hostel and I don’t think I have been so cold in my life. It never stopped raining the entire tour. We were soaked through 30 minutes into it. I think I missed half of London because I didn’t want to look up and into the rain. But hey, there is Big Ben. Camden was the coolest part of London though. The food stands there were tempting us so badly after we had just stuffed our faces with fish and chips. We almost had 3 lunches that day. You can get lost in all the markets there. All in all London was a pretty amazing city to see and I will definitely be heading back there to eat more. If you haven’t caught on yet, we mainly travel to eat…

January 5th: wtf is snow

Processed with VSCOcam with k3 preset
On the Nyhavn Canal

Processed with VSCOcam with k1 preset

IMG_3323
We learned that we are really bad at ice skating… quickly 
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Our smiling faces rarely seen because we were usually wrapped in our scarves 

Copenhagen was beautiful and COLD. Starting in the warm city of Barcelona, on the beach, and then heading north up Europe, we weren’t quite prepared. The little snow fall we got in Copenhagen was gorgeous though. It got me even more excited to go north to Sweden to see more snow. We ate like kings here, once again tried glögg (seriously people heed my warning and don’t try it its awful), and went ice skating. We spent more time laughing than actually ice skating. We were truly embarrassed by the 5 year old ice skating circles around us as we could barely go 10 feet without stumbling. But hey, neither of us fell so I call it 100% successful. We walked around as long as we could and saw quite a lot of Copenhagen until our “cold toes” song was no longer distracting us from how cold we were.

January 7th: S W E D E N

Processed with VSCOcam with k3 preset
MAMA I MADE IT
Processed with VSCOcam with k3 preset
Learning quickly how beautiful this city is
Processed with VSCOcam with k3 preset
My snow covered campus
Processed with VSCOcam with k2 preset
This Texan loved playing in the snow

Two weeks later and we have finally made it to Jönköping, Sweden. What a journey it has been and I am so thankful that I had my big sister with me every step of the way. I probably wouldn’t have made it to Ikea without her, or I would’ve taken 5 trips until I had everything I needed. I got to travel the world with my best friend and couldn’t ask for anything more. (Nats, thanks for dealing with my ridiculous indecisiveness and you off the wall sister. Miss you like no other). I was over whelmed with excitement when we walked on campus, of course I had to do a little dance in front of the sign. We got into my apartment, battled wifi, and explored the city for as long as our cold feet could handle again. Jönköping is a beautiful city. Two lakes surround it and we were greeted by a beautiful snow fall. I’m so glad that I got to show my sister around here and eat all of the amazing Swedish food with her. I can’t wait to start the next chapter of life here in Sweden!!!

Leave a comment